Header Ads Widget

Espejo, Santiago lead cast of UAAP Season 80 volley awardees

Ateneo star Marck Espejo, here in action against FEU, earned his fifthe men’s MVP award in as many years. (Franchesca Nicole Collantes/ File Photo)

By Ricky Manliguis

Ateneo’s Marck Espejo and National University’s Jaja Santiago spearhead the cast of awardees in the UAAP Season 80 volleyball competitions.

Espejo, at the heels of his 55-point explosion in Ateneo’s Final Four encounter with Far Eastern U,  won the men’s Most Valuable Player award for the fifth straight year, while snatching Best Scorer, Best Spiker, and Best Server honors.

 Santiago, on the other hand, claimed her first MVP plum in her final year with the Lady Bulldogs. She also won Best Spiker for the fourth time with a success rating of almost 42 percent (41.76%).

NU’s Jaja Santiago (#3, Center) got the women’s MVP and Best Spiker plums (Franchesca Nicole Collantes/ File Photo)

UST star Sisi Rondina earned the Best Scorer Award, while University Of the East libero Kath Arado was hailed as Best Receiver and Best Digger.

FEU’s Celine Domingo copped the Best Blocker award, Desiree Cheng of La Salle earned Best Server, while Ateneo playmaker Deanna Wong got the Best Setter nod. UST’s Milena Alessandrini collared the Rookie Of The Year honors.

Other men’s awardees include UST’s Jayvee Sumagaysay (Best Blocker), DLSU’s Jopet Movido (Best Digger), Ateneo’s Ish Polvorosa (Best Setter) and Bok Morado (Rookie of the Year), and Rikko Mamerto of FEU (Best Receiver).

The winners will be feted in a short awarding ceremonies on Wednesday at the Araneta Coliseum, just before Game two of the women's volleyball finals between La Salle and FEU.

Follow him on Twitter: @Teaching_Hero