PBA confirms wrong call in crucial Anthony foul

PBA confirms wrong call in crucial Anthony foul

The PBA Technical Group confirmed that there should have not been a foul made by Sean Anthony in a crucial play in the Phoenix-NorthPort game. PBA Media Group (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

QUEZON CITY--The Philippine Basketball Association said on Thursday that one of the designated referees for the Phoenix-NorthPort game the night before indeed erred when he called for an offensive foul against Sean Anthony.

With the game tied, 96-all with 47.8 seconds to go, Anthony was called for an offensive foul after appearing to have hit Justin Chua in the head while taking a three-point shot that actually went in.

The trey was nullified in the process, and the Fuel Masters would go on to beat the Batang Pier, whose coaching staff was still fuming post-game about the said foul.

[Related Story: Phoenix escapes Pringle-less NorthPort in dramatic finale]

But following a review, the PBA Technical Group confirmed that there was no foul in that play.

"It was an unfortunate mistake by the referee in calling the offensive foul and we regret the wrong call made," the league said in a statement.

The PBA also said that Noy Guevarra, the referee who made the call, "shall be meted the appropriate sanction."

"Rest assured that the PBA Technical Group holds impartiality, transparency, fairness and integrity as prime values in officiating and with only what is best for the league and its fans in mind," the statement concluded.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Disclaimer: Images, articles, or videos that exist here sometimes come from various sources of other media. Copyright is fully owned by the source. If there is a problem with this matter, you can contact us here.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Disqus Comments
© Copyright 2013 Dugout Philippines - All Rights Reserved