Header Ads Widget

Lady Maroons pull huge comeback to win UAAP women's badminton

UP fought back from a 0-2 deficit in its tie to dethrone defending champion Ateneo in the UAAP Women's Badminton finals at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Court in Manila City.

After Bianca Carlos and Trixie Malibiran opened the tie with singles wins for the Lady Eagles, Bea Bernardo and Jessie Francisco put the Lady Maroons on the board by beating Carlos, who beat Bernardo in the opening match, 21-18, 21-15, and Dia Magno, 21-19, 21-12, in the first doubles match.

Mary Ann Maranon and Marina Caculitan tied the series after trouncing Malibiran, who won over Maranon in three sets in the second singles, and Cass Lim, 10-21, 21-17, 21-17, in the other doubles match.

UP finally ended its 14-year title drought in the women's badminton games when Francisco trounced Jana De Vera, 21-16, 21-13, in the deciding singles game. Thus, the Lady Maroons also completed a 9-0 sweep of the tournament.

Francisco got the season MVP honor, while Maranon took home the Rookie of the Year award.
comments powered by Disqus