Header Ads Widget

UAAP MVP Kiefer Ravena, grand slam winners SMC Mixers among BPO Choice Awards nominees

Kiefer Ravena, his Ateneo Blue Eagles, and James
Yap's San Mig Coffee Mixers are among the nominees
in the sports categories of the BPO Choice Awards.
Kiefer Ravena file photo by Gab Victorino
James Yap file photo by Nuki Sabio/PBA
By Ivan Saldajeno

While he is set to claim his very first UAAP Men's Basketball MVP title, Kiefer Ravena might get another award at the end of the year.

The Ateneo Blue Eagles' main man is among the nominees for Athlete of the Year in the 2014 BPO Choice Awards.

Even his special friend, De La Salle Lady Spiker Mika Reyes, got a nomination for the said category.

Ravena and Reyes joined champion figure skater Michael Martinez, Rain Or Shine players Chris Tiu and Jeric Teng, La Salle baller Jeron Teng, and Loyola Sparks star Phil Younghusband as the candidates.

The Teng Brothers were grouped as one nominee just like how they got nominated in the recently held Yahoo Celebrity Awards.

On the other hand, the grand slam PBA champions San Mig Coffee Mixers headline the list of candidates for Sports Team of the Year.

The Mixers, who won all the three PBA titles at stake last season, lead three pro basketball clubs nominated for the said category.

Crowd favorites Barangay Ginebra San Miguel and Rain Or Shine Elastopainters also got nominations.

Even the defunct Air21 Express franchise got a nod as a nominee for its Cinderella run in the PBA Commissioner's Cup.

Air21 recently sold its franchise to NLEX, elevating the latter to the pros from the PBA D-League.

Five collegiate teams made the cut as the men's basketball teams of Ateneo, La Salle, and UST and the women's volleyball squads of Ateneo and La Salle are also among the nominees.

The Philippine Azkals are the only national team that made it to the list of nominees.

The BPO Choice Awards, according to awards director J.P. Galinato, aims to make the BPO industry's voice audible to everyone.

Everyone in the BPO industry can vote online at BPOChoice.com until November 30.

The winners will be announced in a special awarding event on December 13 at the Newport Performing Arts Theater in Pasay City.
comments powered by Disqus