Header Ads Widget

Press to honor Fernandez, Altamirano

Photo of Altamirano from Ivan Saldajeno; photo of Fernandez from Marlon Bernabe of Burnsports
By Dugout Philippines

NU head coach Eric Altamirano and former San Beda and current NLEX mentor Boyet Fernandez are set to receive the Coach of the Year awards at the Collegiate Basketball Awards on December 4.

Altamirano and Fernandez will be recognized for leading their respective teams to the UAAP and the NCAA plums.

Altamirano bucked off the absence of Ray-Ray Parks and head the Bulldogs to their first UAAP title after 60 years.

On the other hand, Fernandez continued the winning tradition of the Red Lions as he steered them to their fifth consecutive NCAA title, matching the feat made by the 1993-97 San Sebastian Golden Stags.

The annual recognition dinner, supported by Smart Sports, Accel 3XVI and Kohl Industries (Doctor J Alcohol, Bactigel Hand Sanitizer, Mighty Mom Dishwashing Liquid), honors the outstanding performers in the country’s top two varsity leagues.