Header Ads Widget

Loyola nabs PFF-Smart Championship with 2-0 win versus Global

Ivan Saldajeno
By Ivan Saldajeno

Loyola bucked off the early departure of striker Phil Younghusband and defeated Global, 2-0, to capture the PFF-Smart Club Championship at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila City.

Younghusband fell down on his own ten minutes into the match as he appeared to hurt his leg.

But midfielders Eddie Mallari and Matthew Hartmann made up for Younghusband's absence as they drilled in the decisive goals for the reigning UFL Cup champion against the UFL's league champion.

Mallari struck first for Loyola in the 18th minute as he received a back pass from the streaking Roxy Dorlas and sent the ball past Patrick Deyto.

Global had two good chances to equalize later in the first half, but Mark Hartmann's attempt in the 23rd minute hit the goal post and Misagh Bahadoran was denied of a close-range try three minutes later.

Matthew Hartmann found himself with the ball after a heading battle and struck the second goal in the 57th minute.

Yu Hoshide almost put Global on the board four minutes after as his free kick also hit the bar. The club never threatened afterward.

Loyola walked away with PHP150 thousand for winning the tournament. It also earned the club a spot in the 2016 AFC Cup.

Global, which will play in this year's AFC Cup, settled for PHP 75 thousand.

Global, however, grabbed some special awards as the club won the Fair Play Award and the Best Striker plum for Izo Elhabib.

Loyola, however, took the rest of the special awards as Matthew Hartmann, Tomas Trigo, and Joaco Canas were named the Best Midfielder, Goalkeeper, and Defender respectively. Hartmann was later declared the MVP.