Header Ads Widget

Manson thinks late Ceres penalty a non-call

Martin Steuble failed to give Ceres the win after missing a penalty just before
the end of regulation. USA Today (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

"Justice has been done." That was what Global coach Leigh Manson told the press after he was asked of his thoughts after Martin Steuble misfired a late penalty that could have given Ceres the win in their PFF-Smart Club Championship semifinal clash.

He made such statement because he thought Richard Talaroc did not foul Patrick Reichelt inside the box at the 89th minute. The referee called a foul against Talaroc, leading to Steuble's spot kick try.

"I don't think it was a penalty," Manson said of the crucial late moment.

He added, "It would have been hard on the boys. We dominated [most of the match]."

Despite Talaroc's late mistake, Manson still lauded his effort off the bench.

"Young Richard has done well. It would have been a heart-breaker for him if that costed us the game. Luckily, Martin missed the penalty, and we got two in extra time."

Steuble, who only flew to the Philippines two days ago and immediately joined Ceres at his arrival, badly missed the penalty, and Global stole the win with two goals in extra time.