Header Ads Widget

Adamson ends UAAP season with softball five-peat

By Dugout Philippines

MANILA--Adamson fashioned out another perfect campaign, hacking out a 10-0 victory over UP for its fifth straight championship Thursday in the UAAP Season 77 softball tournament at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium.

Stretching its unbeaten run to 62 matches, the Lady Falcons captured their 14th championship, and 11th under coach Ana Santiago.

"Ito ang bunga ng tuloy-tuloy na training at magandang programa. Nandoon yung will para manalo sa game. This is the first time we got a five-peat," said Santiago.

Queeny Sabobo, who shared with University of Santo Tomas' Cristy Joy Roa for the Most Homeruns awards, fired the game-clinching two-run homer in the final inning had two RBIs and two hits for Adamson.

After fanning out 12 batters in the Lady Falcons' 6-0 win in last Tuesday's opener, Annalie Benjamen sustained her impressive play with four strikeouts and allowing only three hits. 

Benjamen won her second straight MVP award and also bagged the Best Pitcher, Best Hitter and Most RBIs plums.

"Yung lahat ng pinaghirapan namin, nandoon lahat yung kinalabasan," said the 22-year old Benjamen, who is a pride from Bacolod City.

Santiago credited the Lady Maroons, who matched their second place finish in 2011, when the Lady Falcons began their softball dynasty.

"UP is a strong team. Hanga ako sa kanila, marami silang rookie, pero hindi sila bumitaw. Mga fighter ang mga yan. Ang sabi ko sa mga bata, if we want to win, kung anong lakas meron ang kalaban, higitan natin. If we want to be the winner, we have to play like a winner," said Santiago.

Adamson got a huge chunk of the individual awards, as Gelyn Lamata shared with Benjamen for the Most RBIs, while Lorna Adorable took the Most Stolen Bases honors and Florabelle Pabiana took the Rookie of the Year plum.