Header Ads Widget

It's a tie! Arado, Laure share Rookie of the Year plum

By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Many volleyball fans got puzzled when UE coach Francis Vicente broke out the news on Monday that libero Kathleen Arado won the Rookie of the Year award, pulling off a shocker against UST's E.J. Laure and Ateneo's Bea De Leon.

A day later, the fans became more confused when former MBA star Eddie Laure posted on Instagram a photo of his daughter's invite to the individual awards on Saturday bearing her name as Rookie of the Year.

It turned out, both Vicente and Laure revealed the truth.

The UAAP confirmed that both Arado and Laure won the Rookie of the Year award this season.

Arado finished second in digs and seventh in receptions after the elimination round, while Laure led the Tigresses' offensive charge early into the season before seasoned veterans Pam Lastimosa and Ria Meneses took over the rest of the way.

A three-game absence due to a hand injury affected De Leon's chances of at least make it a three-way tie.