Header Ads Widget

PCCL finalists San Beda, La Salle grouped together in FilOil Cup

Reigning NCAA and PCCL champion San Beda will try to open 2015 on a championship
note in the FilOil Flying V Preseason Premier Cup. Ivan Saldajeno (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

PASIG--The two best collegiate teams in the country as per last year's PCCL results are grouped together in this year's FilOil Flying V Preseason Cup.

National champion San Beda and runner-up La Salle headline the nine-team Group B in the said tournament, which will tip off on April 18.

Joining the Red Lions, also the reigning NCAA winners, and the Green Archers, the defending champions of the preseason tourney, in Group B are the Mapua Cardinals and the Lyceum Pirates of the NCAA, the UE Red Warriors, UP Fighting Maroons, and the UST Growling Tigers of the UAAP, the CEU Scorpions of the NAASCU, and the SWU Cobras of the CESAFI.

Meanwhile, the other group will comprise of the UAAP champion NU, fellow league competitors Adamson and FEU, NCAA's EAC, JRU, Letran, Perpetual Help, CSB, and CESAFI's USJ-R.

Teams will play a single round robin intra-group eliminations with the top four teams from each group advancing to the knockout crossover quarterfinals. The top team of one group will face off with the fourth-placed team of the other group, while the second-placed team of the first group will battle the third-placed team of the other.

The winner of the two 1 vs. 4 games will clash in one semifinal affair, while the 2 vs. 3 winners will play in the other semifinal with the respective victors battling for the championship in a one-game affair on June 14. A consolation game for third place will happen between the losing semifinalists on the said date.

The games will be held every Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday starting at 12 p.m. A quadruple-header will happen on every gameday.