Header Ads Widget

Valdez wins MVP anew

By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Ateneo's Alyssa Valdez once again reigned supreme in the individual ranks as she won her second consecutive UAAP women's volleyball MVP plum.

With 94.082 SP's, the fourth-year Lady Eagle lorded over the MVP race and edged La Salle's Ara Galang, who finished with 91.2 SP's.

Valdez scored a total of 312 points on 262 spikes, 32 aces, and 18 blocks, overwhelming closest rival Jaja Santiago by 60 points for the best scorer award. The towering NU Lady Bulldog, on her part, got the best spiker award after converting on 39.1% of attacks compared to Valdez's 38.5%.

Valdez also beat her former high school teammate, La Salle's Kim Fajardo, for the best server award by just 0.01 ace per set.

UST's Ria Meneses bagged the best blocker award after tallying 47 blocks, or 0.94 per set.

On the non-scoring awards, Valdez's Ateneo teammates Jia Morado and Denden Lazaro won the best setter and best receiver plums respectively.

Morado dished out a little over nine excellent sets per period, beating Fajardo and UST's Alexine Cabanos.

Lazaro, on the other hand, had a 27.25 receiving efficiency rating, enough to top teammate Ella De Jesus and NU's Fatima General.

Tin Agno bagged the best digger honor as FEU's libero made 3.3 digs per set, beating UE's Kathleen Arado and UP's Arielle Estranero.

The awards will be handed out on Saturday at the Mall of Asia Arena before Game 2 of the Finals between La Salle and Ateneo.