FEU, Chelsea SS PH, eight others all set for PFF Women’s Cup

By Kevin Estrada

PASIG--Defending UAAP Women’s Champion Far Eastern University and Chelsea Soccer School Philippines led the ten-team cast for the PFF Women’s Invitational Cup set to kick off at the Rizal Memorial Stadium on Sunday.

In a draw held on Wednesday at the PFF House of Football, the last year’s finalists are seeded into their respective groups of five. Last year’s UAAP runner-up University of the Philippines is fielding two teams under Anto Gonzales. De La Salle University and FEU also had their alumni clubs Lady Tamaraw and Green Archers United joining the tournament as well.

PFF Sec. Gen. Atty Ed Gastanes, tournament director and Stallion manager Ernie Nierras, and Senator Pia Cayetano witnessed the draw.

The tournament will be different from last year as the matches will now be played full in 90 minutes with 11 players per side.

FEU were drawn group A with GAU, Ateneo De Manila University, UP-Y and Sikat, which is coached by Kaya midfielder Miguel Tanton and skippered by Amanda Fernandez, who hosts the latest iteration of Gameplan on Rappler and owns the indoor football court SPARTA in Mandaluyong.

The Lady Blues of coach Roberto Cabural are drawn in Group B with the Lady Archers, Lady Tamaraw, UP-X and the University of Santo Tomas.

Aside from Rizal Memorial, the new Alonte Field in Binañ will host the matches.