UP downs La Salle in battle of unbeaten women's badminton squads

By Dugout Philippines

MANILA--Reigning women's champion University of the Philippines turned back De La Salle, 3-2, to seize the solo lead Wednesday in the UAAP Season 78 badminton tournament at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Courts.

Last year's top rookie Mary Ann Marañon needed three sets to beat Arianne Rivera, 15-21, 21-15, 21-11, in the first singles, Paola Bernardo subdued Mariya Anghela Sevilla, 21-16, 21-15, in the second singles, and the Lady Maroons clinched the tie after the first doubles tandem of reigning MVP Jessie Francisco and Eleonor Christine Inlayo prevailed over Alyssa Leonardo and Kristelle Salatan, 22-20, 21-19.

The Lady Archers, whose two-game winning streak was snapped, drew victories from Aries Montilla and Sevilla, who beat Marañon and Marina Caculitan, 21-10, 21-19, in the second doubles, and Nicole Albo, who topped Inlayo, 21-19, 17-21, 21-14, in the third singles.

UP remained unbeaten in three starts, while La Salle dropped to 2-1 alongside Ateneo, a 3-2 winner over Far Eastern University, and University of Santo Tomas, which drubbed National University, 4-1, in second place.

Cass Lim, Bianca Carlos and the doubles tandem of Geva de Vera and Janel Dihiansan provided victories for the Lady Eagles, who continued to rise from a season-opening loss to the Lady Archers.

The Tigresses banked on Steffie Aquino, Patricia Barredo and Arish Ann Macalino to bounce back from last Sunday's 0-5 loss to the Lady Maroons.

In the other tie, Adamson University barged into the win column with a 3-2 win over University of the East.

The Lady Falcons dropped in a tie with the Lady Tamaraws and the Lady Bulldogs at 1-2, while the Lady Warriors suffered their third consecutive loss.

Follow this writer on Twitter: @DugoutPH