La Salle earns UAAP's first quadruple gold by taking men's, boys' table tennis titles

By Dugout Philippines

MANILA--Just like its women’s counterparts, De La Salle swept University of Santo Tomas in the Finals to capture its third straight men’s title Thursday in the UAAP table tennis tournament at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium.

The Green Archers turned back the Growling Tigers, 3-1, in the opener before escaping with a narrow 3-2 decision in Game 2 to clinch their fifth crown overall.

The success of its men’s team came after La Salle earlier took its second consecutive women’s tiara behind season MVP Ian Lariba and Rookie of the Year Emy Rose Dael.

The Green Archers’ Walden Ledesma took his second men’s MVP award in three years while his teammate Carlo Mateo bagged the top rookie honors.

It was La Salle’s second straight double championship in the sport.

The Junior Archers, meanwhile, also made a title sweep of the high school division.

On Friday, De La Salle-Zobel nipped National University, 3-2, to rule the boys' section, with Elijah Yamson and Neo Angelo Laudato winning the MVP and Rookie of the Year honors, respectively.

With the championships in the male sides, La Salle earned the distinction of becoming the first team to win the gold in all the four gender groups of a particular UAAP sport.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @DugoutPH