Header Ads Widget

Caracut takes Rookie of the Year award

Bien Lazarte (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--During the preseason, many touted Andrei Caracut to win the UAAP Rookie of the Year award.

However, he won against his nearest competitor by the slimmest of margins after the stats were tallied.

La Salle's prized freshman edged out UST's Marvin Lee by just less than a quarter of a point for the top plum among the first year players.

Caracut, who finished 29th overall in the statistical points race, had 31.6667 SP's, while Lee, who was 30th overall, tallied 31.4286.

The former San Beda Red Cub missed two games for the Green Archers this season due to an injury, but he still bested the former FEU Baby Tamaraw, who played in all 14 games for the Growling Tigers, as the latter got a deduction for a technical foul.

The UAAP restricts the Rookie of the Year award only to players who came straight from high school, disqualifying Adamson's Papi Sarr, who finished sixth in the statistical points race, from the said plum. Sarr played for the Soaring Falcons' Team B last season before getting elevated to Team A this year.

Transfer students were also excluded from consideration, eliminating Adamson's Joseph Nalos and UE's Bonbon Batiller from the race.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno