NBA opens All-Star balloting

By Dugout Philippines

TORONTO–The National Basketball Association (NBA) and Verizon tipped off the NBA All-Star Voting 2016 on Friday at 3 a.m. Philippine Time.

The all-digital program gives fans everywhere the opportunity to vote for their favorite players as starters for NBA All-Star 2016 in Toronto, the first All-Star Game to be held outside of the U.S. in the event’s 65-year history.

New to the voting program this year, NBA fans are now able to cast their daily votes directly through Google Search on their desktop, tablet and mobile devices.  They can also vote on, through the NBA App (available on Android and iOS), SMS text, and social media networks including Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, as well as via Sina Weibo and Tencent Microblogs in China. 

All current NBA players are available for selection. Fans can select up to two guards and three frontcourt players from each conference when choosing starters via or the NBA App.

NBA fans can vote through the league's All-Star Voting page at or at the NBA app.

Fans can also vote on social media sites Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram by typing a player's name or tagging his account along with the hashtag #NBAVote.

They can also vote through Google by searching for NBA Vote All-Star or NBA Vote (name of a team) and using the respective team cards to select players.

Fans can do either of the said methods a maximum of ten times per day.

Voting will conclude on Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2016 at 12:59:59 p.m. Philippine Time.

Starters will be announced live on TNT on Friday, Jan. 22, during a special one-hour edition of TNT NBA Tip-Off presented by at 8 a.m. Philippine Time, featuring Ernie Johnson, Charles Barkley, Shaquille O’Neal, and Kenny Smith.

The special will air prior to TNT’s exclusive doubleheader featuring the L.A. Clippers at the Cleveland Cavaliers (9 a.m. Philippine Time) and the San Antonio Spurs at the Phoenix Suns (11:30 a.m. Philippine Time).

Other balloting updates will be shared on Dec. 26, Jan. 8, and Jan. 15 (Philippine Time).

Follow the site on Twitter: @DugoutPH