Header Ads Widget

Pipitunge hopes for rematch with Lausa

Crisanto Pipitunge (left) looks to land a strike on Jenel Lausa. Ivan Saldajeno

By Ivan Saldajeno

PARAÑAQUE--Crisanto Pipitunge believes he should be at the better of a split decision verdict against fellow Filipino slugger Jenel Lausa in the main event of PXC 51 at the Solaire Grand Ballroom.

"Nakita naman natin na ang lahat ng mga tao ay nagbo-boo noong in-announce na si Lausa ang nanalo. Lahat ng mga tao, ang iniisip ako yung nanalo," Pipitunge described to Dugout Philippines early Sunday how the crowd reacted when Lausa was declared a 47-48, 48-47, 48-47 winner of their all-Filipino clash for the vacant PXC flyweight title.

[Related Story: Lausa takes vacant PXC flyweight title with split decision win over Pipitunge]

The former bantamweight titlist further said, "I don't know kung may nakita siyang weakness ko," although he clarified that Lausa, who won in only his first world title shot, also performed well in the match and that he respects the judges' decision.

"I'm too old enough to make excuses. I leave it to the judges," Pipitunge said about how they evaluated the fight.

However, he hopes that a rematch will take place, and he vowed that it will not go the full five rounds.

Pipitunge continued, "Sana magkaroon kami ng rematch. We'll not leave it to the judges."

But he also acknowledged the fact that PXC's front office led by CEO E.J. Calvo has the power to decide what is next for him.

Pipitunge bared, "My decision [for the meantime] is to work hard first, and it's up to the promotion to give me my next fight. Whoever he will be, I will face him."

However, he hinted that he might not be staying at the 125-pound level for long.

Asked if he has plans to return to the 135-pound category, Pipitunge replied, "Depende po yan sa pagkakataon na ibibigay sa akin."

For the meantime, he said he will enjoy his stint at the flyweight until the time for him to go back to the bantamweights has come.

On the other hand, Dugout Philippines tried to reach out to Lausa about his takes on his win, but he said that he had to rush to a nearby hospital to check on an injured arm.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno