NZ Warriors clinch Manila 10's four-peat

By Ivan Saldajeno

PARAÑAQUE--JML-North Harbour-NZ once again showed its dominance in the Manila 10's after winning its fourth straight title in fashion at the Nomads Sports Club on Sunday night.

The Warriors swept all of their five matches in the cup division, capping it off with a 28-14 takedown of the B2Gold Larrikins in the championship game.

Coached by Philippine Volcanoes men's 7's mentor Geoff Allen, NZ pulled off an unprecedented feat in the tournament with the four-peat completion.

On the other hand, the RTS-Clark Jets blanked the Alabang Falcons, 27-0, to take the bowl title.

Built around local youth development players and young expats, the Jets completed their domination of the bowl division with the shutdown of the Falcons en route to their first Manila 10's title overall.

"The Jets are known as a fast and electric team, however it was our defense that won us the games," said skipper Jovan Masalunga.

Meanwhile, Cebu won the shield division, giving the host country two silverwares for this year.

"[This is] a great weekend for rugby all over the world, [but] an even better weekend for Philippine rugby [because we have] two local Filipino teams take out two of the four championship divisions,” said PRFU Director Matt Cullen, who also serves as Clark's coach.

Hong Kong-based RMD ruled the plate division.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno