Header Ads Widget

Al Panlilio to lead new SBP board as he takes over MVP as prexy

New SBP president Al Panlilio (fifth from right) and vice chairman Robbie Puno (immediate left of Panlilio) with some of the delegates in the SBP National Congress. Ivan Saldajeno
By Ivan Saldajeno

MAKATI—Al Panlilio was named the new president of the SBP following the election of the new members of the board of trustees, in which the results was announced during the said NSA's national congress at the Dusit Thani Hotel on Monday.

The incumbent vice chairman took over the spot vacated by Manny Pangilinan as per another election within the new SBP board members made during their first meeting right after the congress.

On the other hand, Senator Sonny Angara, who also made significant contributions to Philippine sports especially in basketball, was named the new chairman.

Former Congressman Robbie Puno replaced Panlilio as vice chairman.

Puno was vital in naturalizing Marcus Douthit and Andray Blatche, making them eligible to join Gilas.

Joining Panlilio, who also acts as Meralco's representative to the PBA Board of Governors, in the SBP board from the top flight cagefest are fellow Governors Robert Non and Erick Arejola and Commissioner Chito Narvasa.

Other notable members of the new SBP board include UP's UAAP board representative Ronnie Dizer, JRU's NCAA ManCom member Paul Supan, Mahindra consultant and PCCL commissioner Joe Lipa, FilOil Flying V Sports Director Joey Guillermo, who is representing Metro Manila, which is classified by SBP as Area 1, and former UAAP board member Ricky Palou, who is representing the commercial basketball sector.

For his part, "MVP", who helped in forming the organization and molding it to what it is now, was given an honorary position as chairman emeritus.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno