Dionisio takes NAASCU MVP plum, leads Mythical 5

By Ivan Saldajeno

MAKATIAris Dionisio took home the NAASCU MVP award after leading St. Clare's successful title run.

The league feted Dionisio during the awarding ceremonies that took place right after Game 3 of the finals at the Makati Coliseum on Friday, where the Saints trounced the Fatima Phoenix, 64-62, to bag the title.

Dionisio capped his MVP performance by scoring 12 points including a crucial layup with less than 40 seconds left in the match, 13 rebounds, five blocks, and one steal in the championship decider.

The five-swat showcase actually sealed his win as the season's best blocker alongside also taking the best rebounder plum.

Dionisio headed the Mythical Five that also comprises of teammate Paeng Rebugio, Joseph Marquez of runner-up Fatima, Carl Lumbao of LSB, and Mike Ayon-ayon of PCU.

Rebugio, for his splendid court generalship, also took home the Best in Assists award.

Meanwhile, PCU's Von Tambeling was named the season's best scorer, while Fatima's Jerome Juanico was hailed as the best stealer.

The Saints eventually ruled the individual awards with Rojay Santos winning the Rookie of the Year award and Coach Jino Manansala bringing home the Coach of the Year plum.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno