Header Ads Widget

Oraeme named MVP anew

Make it back-to-back MVPs for Mapua's Allwell Oraeme.
By Ivan Saldajeno

PASAY—Allwell Oraeme was named the NCAA men's basketball MVP for the second straight season.

The towering Mapua center edged Arellano's prime point guard Jio Jalalon for the league's top individual prize after a strong second round that lifted his team back to the Final Four.

Oraeme formally got his MVP plum in the individual awards at the Mall of Asia Arena prior to Game 2 of the men's basketball finals between San Beda and Arellano on Tuesday.

Oraeme and Jalalon were joined in the Mythical Team by Perpetual Help's Bright Akhuetie, EAC's Hamadou Laminou, and San Beda's Donald Tankoua, who was also named the Most Improved Player despite his season being cut short by an ACL injury.

On the other hand, Lyceum big man Harry Nzeusseu formally received his Rookie of the Year plum after getting the best stats among the freshmen.

Also feted was La Salle-Greenhills' Troy Mallinllin, who was named the juniors MVP.

Mallinllin is only the second Greenie ever to win the MVP award, duplicating the feat of Prince Rivero in 2013.

Mallinllin led the high school mythical selection that also includes San Beda-Taytay's Sam Abu Hiljeh and Most Improved Player winner Josh Tagala and Arellano's Guilmer Dela Torre and Rookie of the Year Aaron Fermin.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno