Ateneo stays as men's swimming champ; UP reclaims women's swimming pennant

By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Ateneo took its third consecutive UAAP men's swimming championship after dominating the said tournament at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool over the weekend.

The FAST tankers tallied 603 points after the four-day event, nearly double the total output of La Salle (314).

UP was third with 194 points, while UST finished fourth with 84 points followed by NU (28), Adamson (26), and UE (6).

However, Ateneo's female swimmers failed to land its own three-peat as UP reclaimed the women's swimming title in a tight contest that even saw a bizarre moment between the top freshmen of both sides.

The Lady Maroons outpointed the FAST ladies, 444-411, to clinch their first title since 2013.

La Salle was third with 169 points, while UST placed fourth with 129 points and UE rounded up the event at fifth with six points.

In the said awkward moment, the UAAP initially handed the Rookie of the Year award to UP's Yssa Pogiongko, but after a recalculation of points, the plum was later correctly given to Ateneo's Andrea Ngui.

Ateneo eventually completed a sweep of all the individual awards as Hannah Dato took the MVP award in the women's side even as Aldo Batungbacal won the said plum in the men's side with Miggy Arellano named the top male freshman.

In juniors play, UST took the boys' championship, while La Salle-Zobel ruled the girls division.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno