Teng, Ravena, Desiderio, Jose join Mbala at Mythical Five

Jeron Teng, wearing white, and Thirdy Ravena, at the back of Teng, are part of the Mythical Five. (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Ben Mbala, because of his MVP win, will headline the UAAP men's basketball mythical selection.

On Monday, however, he finally has company.

The league named the four other members of the mythical team which will be formally feted on Wednesday's individual awards.

Mbala's fellow La Salle star Jeron Teng and fellow finalist Thirdy Ravena of Ateneo are part of the Mythical Five even as FEU's Toto Jose and UP's Paul Desiderio complete the list.

The selection of the Mythical Five was based on the top center, top two forwards, and the top two guards statistical points-wise regardless of whether they are actually inside the top five overall or not.

Papi Sarr, who ranked second in the MVP race as well as second among centers, missed the cut due to Mbala's automatic inclusion to the mythical team by virtue of the MVP win, paving the way for Ravena, who was actually ranked seventh overall but second among guards, to join the quintet. Another center, Alfred Aroga, came in sixth overall and third among his fellow slotmen.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno