Back-to-back All-Star MVP Wright, long-time Nationals headline Gilas' "SEABA 12"

These four players are called up for SEABA duty. (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

LUCENA--Call them the "SEABA 12".

Coach Chot Reyes officially named the "Chosen Dozen" that will represent the Philippines in the SEABA Men's Championship on May 12-18 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City.

In a public announcement late Friday night at the Quezon Convention Center right after the PBA All-Star Game, Reyes named Alaska's Calvin Abueva, Ginebra's Japeth Aguilar, Rain or Shine's Raymond Almazan, Xinjiang's Andray Blatche, TNT's Jayson Castro, RR Pogoy, and Troy Rosario, San Miguel's Junemar Fajardo, Star's Jio Jalalon and Allein Maliksi, GlobalPort's Terrence Romeo, and Phoenix's Matt Wright, who was once again named All-Star Game MVP after steering the Gilas pool to a win earlier Friday against the Luzon All-Stars, to the roster that will vie for the lone Southeast Asian spot in the FIBA Asia Cup.

He intends to field in the "SEABA 12", although sans Blatche, who will only join the team in practice on May 2, in the final game of the All-Star series against the Visayas All-Stars in Lapu-Lapu on Sunday night.

However, with Fajardo and Romeo, who are supposed to be members of the Visayas All-Stars, named to the "SEABA 12", a late shakeup to the Tim Cone-coached all-star lineup is expected.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno