Countdown to PFL begins with Stallion first to ink agreement with PFF

Stallion Laguna co-owner Filbert Alquiros shakes hands with PFF President Mariano Araneta after signing the franchise agreement.
By Kevin Estrada

PASIG -- The countdown to the Philippines Football League officially begin this week as the Philippine Football Federation has just announced Wednesday that 8 clubs have got their nod to play in the inaugural season which will kick off on April 29.

In a press release written by secretary general Atty. Ed Gastanes, the top six of last season's UFL comprised the core of the clubs participating this season, with reigning national champions Global Cebu leading the pack that passed the stringent requirements set by the PFF, as they are set to make the University of San Carlos pitch in Cebu City their home.

Also in the same press release are the rest of the participating clubs and their nominated home field, with Loyola Meralco Sparks making the biggest move yet, ditching Taguig for the Rizal Memorial in Manila.

In what could be the biggest news this year, the PFF are also set to ink a deal with the government-owned PTV Network to become its television partner.

The following day, Stallion Laguna had just made a head start two weeks before the official launch on April 20, signing the franchise agreement with the PFF in the afternoon, but the details of it are confidential according to gaffer Ernest Nierras.

Double winners in the UFL four years ago, Stallion had nominated the 2,580-seater BiƱan Football Stadium as their home field, and has been the most consistent side in marketing the club for the inaugural PFL season, having won the Invitational Cup against the Sparks who are also part of the PFL.

Here are the rest of the teams that will be part of the inaugural season of the PFL along with its nominated home grounds:
  • Ceres Negros (Panaad, Bacolod)
  • Kaya (University of Makati)
  • JP Voltes (Marikina Sports Center)
  • Davao Aguilas (Davao Del Norte Stadium, Tagum City)
  • Ilocos United (Quirino Stadium. Vigan)
Follow him on Twitter: @KevinLEstrada