Header Ads Widget

Gayoso, Ateneo dominate individual awards

Champions Ateneo dominated the team of the season awards, as three of their freshmen were feted as well.
By Kevin Estrada

MANILA -- Newly-crowned champions Ateneo dominated UAAP men's football team of season 79, nabbing the majority of the individual awards just minutes after they clinched their seventh title in a thrilling final Sunday afternoon at Rizal Memorial.

Leading the way for the champions was sophomore Jarvey Gayoso who nab the Golden Boot for league-leading 12 goals and was given the Golden Ball as the season's best player, despite missing two matches due to suspension.

Gayoso was part of the six Blue Eagles into the mythical eleven, alongside center-back Jeremiah Rocha (best defender), midfielder Julian Roxas.

But what stands out was the freshmen contingent as they also took three spots into the team and two of them nabbed the awards.

AJ Arcilla's shutout of FEU in the final was his 10th clean sheet, giving him the Golden Glove for the best goalkeeper. Joining him was wingback Jordan Jarvis who was adjudged as the best freshman booter and midfielder Enzo Ceniza.

Although coming up short for his third title, FEU's Paolo Bugas will end his college career as the league's best midfielder, with Rico Andes joining him in the selection.

Despite missing out in the postseason, La Salle had a fair play award to boot and in the process, having Jed Diamante and Noel Brago part of the all-UAAP team, which was rounded up by UST defender Darryl Regala

Follow him on Twitter: @KevinLEstrada