La Salle dominates mythical XI as Inquig wins Golden Ball

La Salle's Kyla Inquig (#19 surprised everyone by being named as Season 79's best player in Women's Football
By Kevin Estrada

MANILA -- La Salle not just swept its way into the UAAP Women's Football crown Sunday evening, but it dominated the end-of-season awards.

Six Lady Archers are on the team of the season, with four of them garnered individual awards.
La Salle's quartet of individual awardees look at their trophies.
With 11 goals this season, Kyra Dimaandal bolstered her chances of a recall to the women's national team, making up of missing out on Tajikistan with her Golden Boot award.

Graduating Inna Palacios nabbed her fourth Golden Glove to cap off her glowing UAAP career as Sara CastaƱeda and Angge Metillo retained their accolades as the league's top midfielder and defender respectively.

Completing the Lasallian sextet in the team of the year are centre half Mariell Tejada and midfielder Irish Navaja.

But the biggest surprise of them all was Kyla Inquig's Golden Ball win as the league's best player this season, despite not in the mythical eleven and was not in the honor roll of individual awards either.

The Tigresses will not go home empty handed as the veteran trio of Hazel Lustan, Charisa Lemoran and Aira Ilan are all part of the the best eleven, and they will also celebrate Marie Indac's Rookie of the year award.

After coming up short in the playoff and settled for their fourth straight third-place finish, Ateneo are still part of collegiate football elite as winger Camille Rodriguez and Isabella Sabio completed the team of season 79.

Follow him on Twitter: @KevinLEstrada