Header Ads Widget

Triple-double king Westbrook is NBA MVP

Evan Agostini/AP

By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Russell Westbrook's historic NBA regular season earned him the Most Valuable Player award as awarded by the league in a special event on Tuesday (Philippine Time).

Westbrook amassed 69 first place votes from a selected panel and totaled 888 points, more than enough to edge James Harden (753 points with 22 first place votes), Kawhi Leonard (500 with nine first place votes), and LeBron James (333 with one first place vote) for the MVP plum.

The Oklahoma City guard became the second player in club history to win the NBA's top individual prize following a season where he averaged a triple-double.

Westbrook became the first player to do so since Oscar Robertson did it in 1962 while also breaking Robertson's record of 41 triple-doubles also in the said year.

Westbrook's 42nd triple-double of the season was made more magical when he shot a long triple at the final buzzer to give the Thunder the away win in Denver against the Nuggets, and that shot earned him the Game Winner of the Year Award. Westbrook would walk away with three awards as he, known for his pre and post-game fashion, was given the Style Award as well.

Meanwhile, Malcolm Brogdon pulled off a stunner when he was named the Rookie of the Year.

The Milwaukee combo guard became the first player to win the top freshman plum despite getting snubbed in the first round of the draft.

Brogdon was selected 36th overall and sixth in the second round by the Bucks but provided much help for them in their run to the playoffs.

Brogdon's teammate Giannis Antetokounmpo, on the other hand, was named Most Improved Player for leading Milwaukee.

Houston's Mike D'Antoni was named Coach of the Year, while Eric Gordon was named Sixth Man of the Year.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno