First-timers impress in Manila leg of Milo Marathon

Rafael Pescos and Cinderella Lorenzo run their way to their first ever win in the National Milo Marathon at MOA.
 By Dugout Philippines

PASAY--A pair of first-time winners cap off the Metro Manila Leg of the National Milo Marathon last Sunday morning at the Mall of Asia grounds.

Booking their places in December's National Finals in Cebu in the centrepiece 42K event were Rafael Pescos and Cinderella Lazaro who won their first race in the full marathon.

The 23-year old Cebuano did not lead right away from the starting gun but gained ground midway in the race to finish first at the time of 2:38:27. Erick Panique (2:43:10), and Noel Tillor (2:47:31) completed the podium.

Over at the women's side, the 28-year old mother coasted to a wire to wire win in her marathon debut, clocking in at 3 hours, 16 minutes and 15 seconds. Runner-up Lany Cardona finished 7:23 behind Lazaro and Lizanne Abella made the podium just almost 14 minutes back.

Angeles will host the fourth leg of the Milo Marathon on Aug. 6.

Follow the site on Twitter: @DugoutPH