Header Ads Widget

Batangas, Davao to host 2018 PBA All-Stars as 3-leg format returns

Arwind Santos wowed the Quezon Convention Center crowd with his "Spiderman Dunk" during the Luzon leg of the PBA All-Star Week last season. PBA (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

PUERTO PRINCESA--Fresh from the successful hosting of three all-star games in three different cities, the PBA opted to use the same format for next year's mid-season classic.

As resolved during the annual league planning in Los Angeles, the league will stage three all-star games in three separate areas anew for the 2018 season.

It was also resolved that Batangas City and Davao City will be the sites of the Luzon and the Mindanao legs of the PBA All-Star festivities.

Only to be determined are the host of the Visayas leg and the format for this year's All-Star series.

Last season, the PBA staged three all-star games in Cagayan De Oro, Lucena, and Lapu-Lapu where Gilas took on the Mindanao, Luzon, and Visayas All-Stars respectively in preparation for its SEABA Men's Championship campaign.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno