Header Ads Widget

Chinese fighter DQ'd for illegal blows on former UGB champ

Li Kai Wen reacts to Olivier Coste's red card on him for his illegal blows against former UGB featherweight champion Ahmed Mujtaba.
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Drama ensued at One: Immortal Pursuit in Singapore as Chinese fighter Li Kai Wen was disqualified in his match against Pakistani opponent Ahmed Mujtaba on Friday night.

Li connected some strikes to the back of the head of Mujtaba, which is illegal according to MMA rules.

Mujtaba failed to recover during the five-minute injury timeout, prompting Referee Olivier Coste to put a stop to the contest and give Li a red card, which signals that a fighter is disqualified.

As a result, the former UGB featherweight champion was given a win that upped his record to 12-1.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno