Header Ads Widget

SEA Games champ Huelgas is Triathlete of the Year by SBR

Nikko Huelgas poses with SwimBikeRun.PH owner Carlos De Guzman after receiving his award. Ivan Saldajeno
By Ivan Saldajeno

MAKATI--Nikko Huelgas added another gold to his growing accolades as he headlined the winners of the fifth annual SwimBikeRun.PH Awards at the Century City Mall Events Center on Saturday night.

Huelgas, who won the gold medal in last year's SEA Games men's triathlon in style after finishing in less than two hours, won the Male Triathlete of the Year.

Fellow SEA Games gold medalist Kim Mangrobang, on the other hand, was named the Female Triathlete of the Year.

Mangrobang's coach, Ani Brown, was namce the Coach of the Year for the tutelage to both Mangrobang and Claire Adorna, who got the silver in Kuala Lumpur last year.

Meanwhile, Jong Sajulga edged Gerald Anderson for the Male Age Group Triathlete of the Year, while Ines Santiago was named the Women's Age Group Triathlete of the Year after a close fight in online voting.

Moira Erediano and Andrew Remolino flew all the way from Cebu to receive their Youth Triathletes of the Year awards.

On the other hand, Emmanuel Comendador took home the Men's Duathlete of the Year award, edging John Chicano, who took home the silver in the SEA Games triathlon race. Miscelle Gilbuena was named the Duathlete of the Year in the distaff side.

Also, Fit PH was named the Team of the Year.

The Cobra Ironman 70.3 Philippines was once again feted as the Race of the Year by the said local triathlon website for the fifth straight time.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno