Header Ads Widget

Resolution filed to honor Senate's UNTV Cup champion squad

The Senate Defenders, led by Senators Sonny Angara and Joel Villanueva, celebrate their first ever UNTV Cup championship after defeating the Malacanang-PSC Kamao, 84-64, in Game 2 of the best-of-three UNTV Cup finals series on March 12, 2018, Monday, at the Smart Araneta Coliseum, Quezon City. The Defenders won a cash prize of PHP4 million which will be distributed to their three chosen charities, Kythe Foundation, Tanghalang Mapagpala Immaculada Concepcion, and Bahay Pangarap. Also in photo are Senate Minority Floor Leader Franklin Drilon and Senator Migz Zubiri, who attended the game to show their support for the Senate basketball team. Albert Cavelo/Senate PRIB
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--The Philippine Senate lauded its basketball team for cropping the UNTV Cup championship through a resolution on Tuesday.

Minority Floor Leader Frank Drilon passed Senate Resolution 680, which congratulates the squad led by two of his fellow senators, skipper Sonny Angara and co-captain Joel Villanueva.

"The historic win of the team is another living proof of the Senate's talent, skill and passion in basketball that bring pride and honor to the institution," Drilon said.

Senate staff members Ronald Golding, Joey Flaminiano, Garri Sevilla, Harly Ng, Rommel Balboa, James Mangaran, Michael Omega, Warren Tan, Reynaldo Malaga, Patrick Paraoan, and Ryan Endaya also make up the team even as ex-pros Marlon Legaspi, Jeffrey Sanders, and Joseph Marata backstop the team coached by Mike Fermin.

The Defenders clobbered the Malacanang-PSC Kamao, 84-64, in the title-clinching Game 2 on Monday night to complete a 2-0 sweep of the best-of-three finals, giving the former a UNTV Cup pennant in its first finals appearance.

[Related Story: Senate sweeps Malacanang-PSC to take UNTV Cup title]

The team took home PHP500,000 while also winning PHP4 million to be equally distributed to Kythe Foundation, Tahanang Mapagpala Immaculada Concepcion, and Pangarap Foundation.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno