Guiao finds late Newsome jumper "disrespectful"

Guiao finds late Newsome jumper "disrespectful"

Chris Newsome's buzzer-beater did not sit well to Coach Yeng Guiao. PBA Media Bureau
By Ivan Saldajeno

QUEZON CITY--The quotient rule being applied right now in the PBA entices both team to slug it out in the end even if it is already a foregone conclusion.

On Friday night, however, the said rule became the subject of an endgame confrontation.

With the Meralco-NLEX clash already a won game for the former, Chris Newsome still put up a jumper with 1.6 seconds left that somehow added insult to the latter.

After shaking hands with Coach Norman Black, Coach Yeng Guiao turned to Newsome and hurled expletives at him. He repeated the cussing just as the final buzzer sounded.

"It is a disrespect. Sa akin kasi, it was totally unnecessary at that point," said Guiao.

While Guiao clarified that he is fine with the quotient rule, he reiterated, "There is more than enough quotient for them."

He then added, "I did not expect it from Newsome. He was kind of a good guy who is going to probably understand a situation like that."

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Disclaimer: Images, articles, or videos that exist here sometimes come from various sources of other media. Copyright is fully owned by the source. If there is a problem with this matter, you can contact us here.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Disqus Comments
© Copyright 2013 Dugout Philippines - All Rights Reserved