Ginebra 3x3 national playoffs set

Barangay Ginebra San Miguel Gin Kings Jervy Cruz, Greg Slaughter and Arth dela Cruz graced the Ginebra San Miguel (GSM) 3-on-3 Tournament recently at the Tenement Basketball Court in Taguig City.
By Dugout Philippines

MANILA--This summer, Ginebra San Miguel, manufacturer of the world’s number one selling gin, embarked in a journey onfinding the best and most talented 3x3 basketball team allacross the country. From the sixteen hotly-contested regional tournaments, only the best of the best survived to represent their respective provinces for the coveted Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 Basketball Champions to be crowned here in Metro Manila.

The first regional champions came from Taguig when Team Tenorio, represented by Jhon Jurilla, Moses Mercano, Barrio Orodio and Mark Yabes defeated Team Jamito (16 – 12) in the finals last April 14 at the Western Bicutan Tenement Basketball Court in Lower Bicutan.

Since then, the action has been nothing less but intense in the succeeding legs nationwide.

Team Cebu will be proudly represented by Team Dela Cruz comprised of Jestony Bacla-an, Erbin John Conahap, Fritz Errylson Dajalos and Jarey Ceniza as they were able to withstand the late rally of Team Thompson with a final score of 20-16 last April 28 at Barangay Mabolo.

Tacloban showcased the best of the best of Eastern Visayas when Team Jamito made up of Aldrin Valdemoro, Jeo Cajanop, Rey John Badilla and Edman Claro escaped with a nail-biting win, 14-13 over Team Dela Cruz last May 5.

Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 tournament then headed to Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija wherein the heated matchup between Team Tenorio, represented by Joeb Cabunoc, Nielson Caducio, Alexander Satumba and Rogelio Raqueno and Team Jamito was decided in the last seconds with the former winning 15-14 last May 12.

Meanwhile, the Laguna leg showed us that the province never lacked in talent when Team R. Aguilar made up of Archibald Natividad, Leomel Flavier, Andrew Albo and John Lester Maurillo beat Team J. Aguilar in a shootout, 20-18 last May 24.

San Fernando, Pampanga and Lucena, Quezon capped off the Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 regional tournaments last June 2 with thrilling victories by Team Slaughter and Team Caguioa respectively completing the cast for the national championships.

Indicated below are the complete list of names of the regional champion teams who will be representing their provinces in the National Championship Tournament to be held at Robinsons Place Manila this coming June 15.

Taguig: Jhon Jurilla, Moses Mercano, Barrio Orodio, Mark Yabes

General Santos: Joshua Cabusas, Josiah Lesmoras, John Mark Mata, Anthony John Bernel

Iloilo: Ronnel Jose Cencia, Eldrick Lencioco, Elvis Lencioco, Bonjoey Sabale

Tagum City, Davao del Norte: Jayven Perdido, Junnel Perdido, Alexzan Pamugas, Mark Jhon Luceno

Cebu City: Jestony Bacla-an, Erbin John Conahap, Fritz Errylson Dajalos, Jarey Ceniza

Puerto Princesa, Palawan: Jacky Polocarpio, Aldrin Dagot, Marvin Cabigas, Hazel Gaddi

Tacloban City, Leyte: Aldrin Valdemoro, Jeo Cajanop, Rey John Badilla, Edman Claro

Legazpi, Albay: Jaymar Baliza, Justine dela Cruz, Rufino Sablaon, Mickey Laguna

Cabanatuan, Nueva Ecija: Joel Cabunoc, Nielson Caducio, Alexander Satumba, Rogelio Raqueno

Balanga, Bataan: Kevin Joy Constantino, Christian Capuli, Patrick Capuli, Glenn Macalinao

San Jose del Monte, Bulacan: Jan Salayo, Russel Pineda, Jay Pineda, Ryan James Abanes

Calamba, Laguna: Archibald Natividad, Leomel Flavier, Andrew Albo, John Lester Maurillo

Tarlac City: Teddy Boy Gapasen, John Berth Francisco, Jhon Israel Reforma, Rayan Nuqui

Caloocan City: Mark Jayvee Anuba, Jomar Chiszar, Marvin Barba, Jason Lazo

Lucena, Quezon: John Patrick Rey, Junvey Bacay, Jayson Verdida, Arsen Malonda

San Fernando, Pampanga: Serafin Santos III, James Allen Dela Peña, Florencio Serrano

The last two teams standing after the National Championships in Manila will get a once in a lifetime opportunity to showcase their talent in front of a capacity crowd at Araneta Coliseum on June 17 before the highly anticipated Manila Classico match-up between Barangay Ginebra San Miguel versus the Magnolia Hotshots. The 2018 Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 Tapang ng Tatluhan Champion will be taking home PHP50,000 cash prize with the runner-up receiving a consolation prize of PHP25,000.

Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 Tapang ng Tatluhan offers their most beloved patrons, the consumers, a once in a lifetime opportunity to experience and celebrate basketball in a professionally-regulated tournament. This grassroots program of Ginebra San Miguel aims to open doors for these aspiring athletes to chase their dreams of one day being the next basketball superstar.

This marks the 2nd consecutive year of Ginebra San Miguel’s partnership with the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) in executing this fast-emerging 3x3 basketball format that is set to be an Olympic sport in the coming years.

All players who participated in this year’s tournament rocked the limited edition “Ginebra Ako” Jerseys. Coincidentally, these are the same jerseys donned by the Barangay Ginebra San Miguel team in the ongoing PBA Commissioner’s Cup.

Follow the site on Twitter: @DugoutPH