Tanauan makes history, blanks Texas to win PH's first Senior League World Series crown

Tanauan Little League
History Makers. Tanauan, Batangas became the first Filipino side to win a Little League title. photo by littleleague.org
By Kevin Estrada

With solid pitching and timely hitting, the Philippines finally bagged a Little League crown for the very first time, as Tanauan blanked Texas D9 7-0 to clinch the Senior League World Series softball title in Roxana, Delaware Sunday afternoon (Monday morning Manila time).

The BatangeƱa batters, representing the Asia-Pacific region, smothered the Southwest representatives on all ends of the diamond, with Royevel Palma pitching a complete game, 2-hit shutout with 15 strikeouts to boot.
Marika Manaig went 3-for-4 and drove in 4 runs for the game from a pair of opposite field singles to lead the charge for the ladies in black, who pulled away in the bottom of the third with a four-run blitz

The right-fielder fired her first 2-run single into the right field to bring home Jeelyn Pajotal and Jamm'n Rasco to set the pace.

In the following inning, Manaig then unleashed the same opposite field hit that gave Maci Matthews fits to send Rasco and Kyla Aala to the plate for a 5-0 lead that they never relinquish.

Palma struck out Sabrina Garcia on a 1-2 pitch to end 26 years of ridicule brought by the Zamboanga City scandal in Little League baseball.

Follow him on Twitter: @KevinLEstrada