Header Ads Widget

Ateneo Lady Shuttlers brought back the 4th championship to Katipunan after five years

Photo credits to Team Ateneo, @AteneOBF Twitter page
by Franchesca Nicole Collantes

MANILA - Ateneo de Manila University Lady Shuttlers got its fourth championship after five years, at a 3-0 match against UP Shuttlers at the UAAP Season 81 Women's Badminton Tournament at the Rizal Memorial Stadium Badminton Hall. 

UAAP S79 Rookie of the year Chanelle Lunod beat Pola Alcala on scores, 21-19, 14-21. 21-16, at the first singles while captain, Samantha Ramos beat Jessie Francisco in the second singles on scores, 16-21, 21-17 and 21-16.

Chanelle Lunod and Geva de Vera beat UP's Leah Inlayo and Mary Ann MaraƱon, 21-13, 21-8, during the first doubles match that led to the fourth championship of the Ateneo Lady Shuttlers after 2013.

Both Lunod and de Vera became co-tournament MVPs.

Sarah Barredo of the NU Shuttlers became the UAAP S81 Rookie of the Year.

Follow her on Twitter, @nekstory