Header Ads Widget

IT'S COMING HOME: Iloilo wins Copa after edging Davao in extra time thriller

Hometown hero. Jovin Bedic left it very late into the Copa Paulino Alcantara final. PFL/File
By Kevin Estrada

MANILA -- Kaya Iloilo brought home the inaugural Copa Paulino Alcantara after edging ten-man Davao Aguilas Bellmare, 1-0 in extra time Saturday evening at the Rizal Memorial.

The final match of the PFL season were all set to go to the dreaded penalty shootout when Jovin Bedic struck home the late winner in the 119th minute to seal their return to the AFC Cup for the first time in three seasons.

Davao have been the more favored side heading into the final, but their missed chances let them down to come up short and was even compounded with the dismissal of Wesley Dos Santos in the first half of extra time on the Brazilian for his second bookable offence.

With the man advantage, Kaya put on the afterburners and had almost given the lead soon afterwards, but Miguel Tanton's 100th-minute free kick hit the rop edge of the post.

Their persistence paid off in the final minute of extra time, when Robert Lopez-Mendy beat an already weary Marco Casambre to put the ball into the six-yard box, in which the club captain made no mistake in tapping it into the empty net.

Davao Aguilas: Deyto (GK), Hartmann (De Bruycker 120'), McDonald, De Jong (Gadia 64'), James YH, Phil YH (C), Hall, Reed, Kim (Minniecon 68'), Casambre, Wesley
unused: Bayan (GK), Grommen, Clarino, Villanueva

Kaya Iloilo -- Villanueva (GK), Omura, Tacusalme, Jalsor Soriano (Menzi 90+4), Bedic, Tanton (C), Osei, Lopez-Mendy, Angeles (Amita 73'), Felongco, Tacagni (Ugarte 110')
unused: Cuaresma (GK), Villasenor, Janrick Soriano, Kaole

Attendance: 1,230

Follow him on Twitter: @KevinLEstrada