Header Ads Widget

NU Shuttlers continues historic run, completes five-peat quest

by Alexa Famisan

MANILA -  The National University Bulldogs reigned supreme after sweeping off University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons in their championship series match and extending their 43-winning streak during the UAAP Season 81 Men's Badminton Tournament at the Rizal Memorial Stadium Badminton Hall. 

Former MVP Ros Pedrosa made easy work in taking down forth-year fighting maroon JM Bernardo, to start the 1st single match of the best-of-three final series, showing no mercy as he smashes it through, 21-17,21-14.

The second singles match was an overpowering performance by the eventually hailed season MVP of the tournament Mike Minuluan as he showcases his combination of speed and powerful smashes to snatch a back-to-back win over Michael Clemente, 21-12,21-14.

A match away in claiming their fifth title for Jhocson, the tandem of two seniors for the doubles match are not giving a slight hope for the Diliman squad as national team standout Alvin Morada and Alem Palmares made a quick work of Harvey Tungul and the lone graduating squad for the Maroons’ Betong Pineda. The Bulldogs showed calmness and composure as they are unstoppable and looked pretty much hungry to get the the match and the fifth straight crown thus ending the match 21-15, 21-17  and the tie 3-0.

It is the fifth consecutive title for National U, yet five of them also finished their journey today, as Mike Minuluan, Alem Palmares, Alvin Morada, Dawn Cuyno and Ros Pedrosa took their final bow as they have ended their UAAP careers bringing glory to NU. 

Team Captain Morada said to the post-game interview, “Siguro naman sa na-achieve naming,hindi mawawala yung NU. Nakasulat na yan, nasa history na yung five-peat. Kaya pag sinabi mong badminton, NU.”