Perkins way ahead in Rookie of the Year race

Perkins way ahead in Rookie of the Year race

Jason Perkins is on track to win the PBA's top award for the newcomers. PBA Media Group (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Jason Perkins holds a comfortable lead over fellow La Salle alumnus Jeron Teng in the Philippine Basketball Association Rookie of the Year race.

As per the stats after the elimination round of the season-ending Governors' Cup, the Phoenix stretch-four has 23.4 statistical points after 34 games. He is actually inside the Top 30 among all players, ranking 26th overall.

Alaska's spitfire winger, on the other hand, is second among rookies with 18.3 SP's after 35 games.

Blackwater's Toto Jose is at third with 14.0 SP's after 32 games, while Magnolia's Robbie Herndon is fourth with 12.8 and Rain Or Shine's Rey Nambatac is not far behind with 12.2

NorthPort's Joseph Gabayni (sixth with 9.8 SP's) and Columbian's Dan Sara (seventh with 6.4) are the other eligible players for the top freshman plum. 

The said players have been in at least 70 percent of the total games their respective teams played up to the Governors' Cup eliminations.

The said criteria disqualified top pick Chris Standhardinger, who missed the entire Philippine Cup due to his stint with Eastern in the ASEAN Basketball League, and second pick Kiefer Ravena, who is serving a long basketball ban from FIBA, from the said award.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Disclaimer: Images, articles, or videos that exist here sometimes come from various sources of other media. Copyright is fully owned by the source. If there is a problem with this matter, you can contact us here.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Disqus Comments
© Copyright 2013 Dugout Philippines - All Rights Reserved