Header Ads Widget

Slaughter, Cabagnot, Erram take backseat for Castro, Rosario, Santos in Gilas team vs Iran

Chris Standhardinger headlines Gilas' team to face Iran. Dennis Acosta (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Greg Slaughter, Alex Cabagnot, and Poy Erram will give way to Jayson Castro, Troy Rosario, and Arwind Santos as Gilas Pilipinas battles Iran in a pivotal FIBA World Cup Qualifiers match at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay on Monday night.

In the statement on Sunday, the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas announced that Castro, Rosario, and Rosario, who were announced to the roster by Coach Yeng Guiao over the weekend, will take over the spots to be vacated by Slaughter, Cabagnot, and Erram.

Japeth Aguilar, Beau Belga, Junemar Fajardo, Marcio Lassiter, Gabe Norwood, LA Tenorio, Scottie Thompson, and Matt Wright retained their spots.

Guiao already announced as well that Chris Standhardinger will be the designated naturalized player for Gilas for the Iran game, replacing Stanley Pringle, who exploded in a losing cause against Kazakhstan on Friday night.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno