Fr. Martin's Cup preseason tourney opens on April 6

San Beda will continue its preseason buildup for its four-peat bid in the NCAA by defending its Fr. Martin's Cup Summer League crown. Rick Dela Cruz (file photo)
By Dugout Philippines

MANILA — The 25th season of the Fr. Martin's Cup Summer League will tip off on April 6 inside the San Beda Mendiola campus with 32 teams bannering the annual basketball tournament.

Defending Fr. Martin's Cup and NCAA champions San Beda Red Lions headline a competitive cast in Group A of the seniors division as they are joined by fellow mother league squads Arellano University and University of Perpetual Help.

Rounding out Group A participants are the De La Salle Green Archers, Treston, AMA University, and Mapua University.

In Group B, UAAP runners-up University of the Philippines and reigning UCBL titlists Diliman College lead the pack which includes Letran College, College of St. Benilde, San Sebastian College-Recoletos, Far Eastern University, and La Consolacion College.

Games shall be played at the San Beda University and at the SGS Gym.

Fourteen teams likewise compose the juniors tournament.

In Group A are Letran, FEU, University of Santo Tomas, San Beda (Manila), Diliman College, St. Patrick's High School, and AMA.

In Group B are Adamson University, San Beda (Rizal), Arellano, Lyceum, TRESTON, SSC-R, and La Consolacion.

Meanwhile, it will be five-way battle in the women's division.

Powerhouse defending winners National University Lady Bulldogs face a competitive cast in UAAP counterparts UST, FEU, La Salle, and University of the East.

This calendar year, the Fr. Martin Cup will be loaded as another conference is slated for July featuring the Division II teams of the UAAP and NCAA in both the men's seniors and juniors.

A season-ending third open tournament shall be held in November which shall have seniors and women's teams playing.

Follow the site on Twitter: @DugoutPH