Quick finals rematch between San Juan, Davao Occ to open new MPBL season

Quick finals rematch between San Juan, Davao Occ to open new MPBL season

By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA—The third season of the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League will start from where Season 2 literally left off.

An early finals rematch between San Juan and Davao Occidental will highlight the opening night festivities of Season 3 on June 12 at the Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay.

The Knights took home the national championship last month after a wild Game 5 finish against the Tigers in Davao City.

Davao Occ, however, will get a quick chance to get back at San Juan, although in a regular season game.

The showdown will commence at 9 p.m., right after the 7 p.m. curtain-raiser between expansion side Bicol and newly-retooled Basilan.

The Volcanoes are one of two new squads who are confirmed to joining the MPBL, the other being fellow Southern Luzon squad Mindoro Tamaraws.

On the other hand, the Steel will parade a heavily tweaked roster led by former Philippine Basketball Association star Jonathan Uyloan and former Quezon City Capitals Hesed Gabo and Jay Collado.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Disclaimer: Images, articles, or videos that exist here sometimes come from various sources of other media. Copyright is fully owned by the source. If there is a problem with this matter, you can contact us here.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Disqus Comments
© Copyright 2013 Dugout Philippines - All Rights Reserved