Header Ads Widget

June Mar Fajardo on track for 6th PBA MVP title

June Mar Fajardo leads the MVP race again, while Ian Sangalang is eyeing a spot in the Mythical Team. Dennis Acosta (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

PASAY--June Mar Fajardo has an inside track for a sixth consecutive PBA MVP award in terms of the statistical points.

The San Miguel center is named among the four finalists for the league's top individual prize on Tuesday.

As of the semifinals of the recently concluded Governors' Cup, Fajardo, the Best Player of the Conference for the Philippine Cup, garnered 39.6 SP's, way ahead of Columbian's CJ Perez, who got 33.47.

TNT's Jayson Castro is in sixth place with 31.5 SP's, while NorthPort's Chris Standhardinger is at number 16 with 26.7, but because they won the BPC for the Commissioner's and the Governors' Cups respectively, they too were named as MVP finalists.

Perez, who was a finalist for the BPC in two conferences this past season, was also named a finalist for the MVP award, which in effect makes him a cinch for the Rookie of the Year award.

This also puts him at a good spot at landing the Rookie of the Year and a Mythical First Team selection at the same time.

Also named as finalists for the PBA's top freshman award are NorthPort's Robert Bolick, Rain Or Shine's Javee Mocon, and TNT's Ray-Ray Parks.

Meanwhile, NorthPort's Sean Anthony (third with 33.46 SP's), Ginebra's Stanley Pringle (fourth with 31.8), and TNT's RR Pogoy (fifth with 31.7) are in good spots to make one of the Mythical Teams.

Also fighting for a spot in the Mythical Selections are Bolick, Ginebra's Japeth Aguilar, Scottie Thompson, LA Tenorio, and Greg Slaughter, Phoenix's Matt Wright, Magnolia's Ian Sangalang, Paul Lee, and Chris Banchero, San Miguel's Mo Tautuaa, Alex Cabagnot, Chris Ross, and Arwind Santos, TNT's Troy Rosario, Columbian's Rashawn McCarthy, Alaska's Jeron Teng, and NLEX's Poy Erram.

The MVP, the Mythical Teams, and the Rookie of the Year will be named during the Leo Awards at the opening of the new season on March 1.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno