Header Ads Widget

Lanz Zafra, Mikaela De Guzman win Prima Pasta Badminton Championships

Lanz Zafra in action.
By Dugout Philippines

MANILA--Lanz Ralf Zafra and Mikaela Joy Miranda De Guzman bested their respective foes to win the open singles titles of the 13th Prima Pasta Badminton Championships at the Powersmash badminton courts in Chino Roces Avenue, Makati City recently.

Zafra delivered his best performance over 2018 Prima Pasta open singles champion Rabie Jayson Oba-ob to score a 21-7, 19-21, 21-15 victory in the men’s singles finale to take home the crown of the annual competition organized by Prima Pasta Chairman Alex Lim.

Zafra, a member of the Philippine team, dethroned last year defending champion Malaysian Shahrul Shazwan, 16-21, 21-11, 21-16, in the quarterfinals before outlasting Ros Leenard Pedrosa in the semifinals, 21-19, 21-7, to get into the finals.

De Guzman upset Sarah Joy Barredo, 21-13, 21-18, to bring home the women’s open singles title.

In the doubles open categories, Peter Gabriel Magnaye and Alvin Morada beat Philip Joper Escueta and Paul John Pantig, 21-19, 21-15, to capture the men’s doubles open crown.

Alyssa Ysabel Leonardo and Thea Marie Pomar outlasted Jochelle Alvarez and Joella Geva Ramos De Vera, 21-13, 21-14, to win the women’s doubles open trophy.

The tournament was backed by Smart, Boysen Paints, Mabz Builders, Monocrete Constructions, Morning Star Milling, ILO Construction, Pioneer Insurance, Promax, APACS, Sunkist Drinks, Regent Foods Corp., and Del Monte Fit N Right.

In the mixed doubles open finals, Magnaye got his second title as he teamed up with Pomar to defeat Abhinaya Adira and Eleanor Christine Inlayo, 21-15, 21-13, for the crown.

Other doubles champions were Christian Bernardo and John Matthew Bernardo (men’s A); Aldreen Rae Concepcion and Susmita Angelique Ramos (women’s B); Anthone Abellana and Emil Jose Mangubat (men’s B); and Maria Virginia Lopez and Joyce Pauline Santos (women’s C); John Edgar Reyes and Michael Verdejo (men’s C); Althea Rio Fuentespina and Angel Valle (women’s D); Rainiel Lloyd Nguyen and Jose Miguel Ranada (men’s D); Samantha Quinsanos and Janella Quinto (women’s F); Daniel Gabriel Luciano and Jojo Meilat (men’s F); and Daniel Cabacungan and Kurt Luis Catap (men’s G).

Follow the site on Twitter: @DugoutPH