Tolentino stays as POC chief, Hontiveros still POC chair

Bambol Tolentino remains the president of the POC. Jess Escaros/PNA (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

PARANAQUE--Despite being accused for allegedly receiving compensation from the Philippine SEA Games Organizing Committee, the group of Bambol Tolentino got most of the electoral posts at stake in the Philippine Olympic Committee election.

After the balloting on Friday at the East Ocean Palace Restaurant, the Cavite congressman has been reelected as POC president, beating opposition candidate Clint Aranas even as his allies got all but two of the seats.

Tolentino, representing cycling, got 30 votes out of 53 cast, while Aranas, representing archery, only got 22. One voter opted not to write down his presidential vote.

Meanwhile, Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas chief Al Panlilio was named the first vice president, beating Philippine Amateur Track and Field Association's Philip Juico, 30-23.

Ormoc mayor Richard Gomez, representing fencing and pentathlon, will be the second vice president, edging rugby's Ada Milby, 31-22.

Cynthia Carrion-Norton will replace Julian Camacho as treasurer, after winning, 27-22, while PBA legend Chito Loyzaga, representing baseball, won over Monico Puentevella as auditor, 27-24.

Tolentino's ticket got three of the four spots in the POC executive board.

Renowned sports surgeon George Canlas, representing surfing, was the top vote getter in all of the election, taking the first board member seat with 36.

Muay thai's Pearl Managuelod placed second with 31, while judo's David Carter claimed a spot as well with 27.

Only Steve Hontiveros and Charlie Ho won among Aranas' team.

Hontiveros has been reelected as POC chairman after beating Tom Carrasco in a tight voting contest, 28-25.

Ho, on the other hand, placed third among board members with 28 votes.

All the elected officials will serve four-year terms that will last until just after the 2024 Paris Olympics.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno