Ginebra rallies late to clinch bubble title

Japeth Aguilar matched his career-high in the title clincher. PBA Images
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Ginebra is the undisputed 2020 PBA champion.


The Barangay took home the only title on the line in the bubble season after clinching it through an 82-78 win against the TNT Tropang Giga in Game 5 of the finals at the Angeles University Foundation Sports and Cultural Center on Wednesday night.

Ginebra sizzled within the last five minutes of the game, going on a 12-0 run to overturn a 68-73 deficit to an 80-73 lead with 56 seconds left.

TNT still tried to come back as Simon Enciso scored on a quick layup with 50 seconds left to cut the lead to five, but despite forcing Ginebra to a 24-second violation in the next play, Samboy De Leon only got to score a layup for TNT with nine seconds remaining that trimmed the gap further to three.

LA Tenorio sealed the win for the Barangay after scoring two free throws off De Leon's sixth foul.

Japeth Aguilar tied his career-high with 32 points on 8-of-12 field goals and 16-of-19 free throws alongside nine rebounds, two assists, and three steals for Ginebra, which won its 13th championship overall and its first Philippine Cup title since 2007.

Despite only scoring 13 points on 5-of-17 shooting, Stanley Pringle delivered when it mattered the most, scoring back-to-back triples that put his team on top for good.

RR Pogoy led TNT anew with 23 points, but he was held to 6-of-21 shooting including 1-for-7 from the three-point area.

Poy Erram added 18 points, 15 rebounds, one assist, three blocks, and two steals.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno