Header Ads Widget

Ray-Ray Parks still leading BPC race

Ray-Ray Parks is still leading the BPC race. PBA Images (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--He may have fallen short on taking the PBA bubble title, but Ray-Ray Parks is still on track of winning the bubble's top player award.

The TNT swingman remains on top of the statistical points race following the tabulation until the recently concluded finals against Ginebra as revealed on Tuesday.

Parks, who missed the last three games of the series due to a calf injury, got an average of 38.2 SP's, way ahead of Phoenix's Calvin Abueva, who has 37.1.

Terrafirma's CJ Perez is third with 35.7, while Abueva's teammate Matt Wright is slightly ahead of Parks' comrade RR Pogoy for fourth with 35.65 compared to the latter's 35.64.

As clarified by Commissioner Willie Marcial recently, the Best Player of the Conference but not the Most Valuable Player will be awarded in a special rites sometime in January.

Meanwhile, three Ginebra players made the Top 10.

Stanley Pringle is in sixth with 34.8 SP's, Japeth Aguilar is eighth with 32.9, and Scottie Thompson is ninth with 32.8.

Rounding the Top 10 are NorthPort's Chris Standhardinger (seventh with 34.6 SP's) and Phoenix's Jason Perkins (10th with 32.7).

The Top 10 have an inside track of making the "Special Five", a mini version of the Mythical Five which will be awarded as well next month.

Meanwhile, the Dyip's Roosevelt Adam remains the top rookie in the stats race with 20.3 SP's, but Meralco Bolt Aaron Black (second with 17.3) and the Barangay's Arvin Tolentino (fifth with 15.5) have a good shot at winning the Rookie of the Year award after their teams made a long playoff run.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment