Header Ads Widget

CJ Perez named scoring champ again

CJ Perez is the PBA scoring champ again. PBA Images (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA—CJ Perez once again led the PBA in scoring for the second straight season as he is among the first set of awardees in the PBA Press Corps Awards Night on March 7.

The group of sportswriters covering the PBA beat announced on Thursday that the incoming San Miguel wingman delivered another masterful offensive performance last year.

Perez averaged 24.4 points a game last season when he was still with Terrafirma.

However, Perez's performance was not enough to lead his team back to the playoffs as they crashed to the bottom of the table at 1-10.

Looking to rebuild again, the Dyip traded Perez to the Beermen.

Meanwhile Perez's former teammate Roosevelt Adams has been inserted to the All-Rookie Team.

Adams, the number one pick of the regular draft in 2019, slowly but surely got into the PBA groove, earning him the All-Rookie Team nod from the press corps.

Meralco's Aaron Black, the Outstanding Rookie last season, will headline the All-Rookie Team as expected.

Completing the quintet are Ginebra's Arvin Tolentino, Alaska's Barkley EboƱa, and NorthPort's Renzo Subido.

Meanwhile, the PBA Press Corps also announced some tweaks to this year's awarding ceremonies due to last season's unique setup.

Instead of the usual Coach of the Year, the group will instead name the "Outstanding Coach of the Bubble".

Also, the "Top Bubble D-Fender" will be awarded too in the PBA Press Corps Awards Night instead of the Defensive Player of the Year.

Also to be awarded are the President's Award, Mr. Quality Minutes, the Executive of the Year, which for this year will be called "Mr. Executive", and the Game of the Season, which will be called "Game of the Bubble".

An addition for this year's awards night will be the "All-Bubble D-Fenders" category due to the PBA not awarding an All-Defensive Team during its own awards night last January.

Meanwhile, the PBA Press Corps will finally honor its awardees from last season, namely Coach of the Year Leo Austria, Executive of the Year Ricky Vargas, and President's Award winner Vergel Meneses.

The said officials were supposed to be given their respective awards last year, but the PBA Press Corps Awards Night for 2020 was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

This year's awarding ceremonies will be done virtually, although some officials will be present at the TV5 Media Center in Mandaluyong.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment