Header Ads Widget

Mark Yee scores game winner as Davao Occidental edges San Juan to win MPBL title

Mark Yee, the MPBL Defensive Player of the Year, won it for the Tigers in offense. Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas/MPBL
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Davao Occidental saw its huge lead evaporated in a flash even as San Juan looked poised to send the MPBL Finals to a deciding Game 5.

The Tigers' team captain, however, showed heart in the end.

Mark Yee pulled off the deciding shot in overtime as Davao Occidental clinched the MPBL title with an 89-88 overtime Game 4 win on Sunday night at the Subic Bay Gymnasium.

Yee, who was named the Defensive Player of the Year earlier in the day, scored the match's most critical offensive moment as he drilled the go-ahead triple with 13.4 seconds left in the game clock to beat the shotclock.

Jhonard Clarito, who scored the championship clinching layup for the Knights in the 2019 finals also against the Tigers, had a golden opportunity to force the rubber match, but the Tigers' defense forced him to lose the ball while going for the layup.

Yee finished with 19 points, 12 rebounds, three assists, and three blocks, while Eman Calo top scored Davao Occidental, which prevailed despite losing a 16-point second quarter lead, with 22 points, two rebounds, one assist, and two steals.

Larry Rodriguez put up 19 points, eight rebounds, three assists, and two blocks for San Juan, which was dethroned as the national champion.

Clarito (18 points and 11 rebounds), and CJ Isit (14 points and 10 assists) each finished with a double-double.

The scores:

DAVAO OCCIDENTAL 89 – Calo 22, Yee 19, Terso 11, Robles 11, Mocon 9, Balagtas 8, Gaco 4, Saldua 3, Custodio 2, Albo 0, Ludovice 0

SAN JUAN 88 – Rodriguez 19, Clarito 18, Isit 14, Wilson 13, Wamar 7, Tajonera 6, Gabawan 4, Ayonayon 3, Aquino 2, Reyes 0, Pelayo 0.

Quarterscores: 24-18, 40-31, 56-60, 80-80, 89-88

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment